

Legislative Energy Commission

100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., 72 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone: (651) 296-0099 Fax: (651) 297-3697 TDD: (651) 296-9896 www.lec.leg.mn

Minutes Legislative Energy Commission November 9, 2017

Members Present

Sen. David Osmek, Co-Chair
Sen. Scott Dibble
Sen. John Marty
Sen. Andrew Mathews
Sen. Carrie Ruud
Sen. David Senjem

Rep. Pat Garofalo
Rep. David Bly
Rep. Tim Mahoney
Rep. Erin Maye Quade
Rep. Duane Quam

Members Excused

Sen. Mike Goggin

Rep. Frank Hornstein

Rep. Jim Newberger

Rep. Joyce Peppin

Sen. Erik Simonson

Sen. Dan Sparks

Rep. Chris Swedzinski

Rep. Garofalo called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 8:00 a.m. on Thursday, November 9, 2017 in the Minnesota Senate Building, Room 1150. A quorum was present.

A motion was made to approve the October 19, 2017 meeting Minutes. Motion prevailed

Energy Storage Testimony & Discussion

The following people provided testimony:

Rick Evans, Director, Regional Government Affairs, Xcel Energy spoke about forms of energy storage.

Thor Underdahl, Minnesota Power spoke about forms of energy storage.

Zak Ruzycki, Great River Energy discussed storage projects.

Brent Bergland, General Manager, Energy and Infrastructure, Mortenson Construction

Brian Burandt, Vice President, Power Supply & Business Development, Connexus Energy presented the Energy Storage Use Case "Distribution Grid Interconnected Solar"

Thad Kurowski, Tesla discussed Tesla and their energy usage and storage.

Barb Jacobs, University of Minnesota, Energy Transition Lab briefly presented energy storage guides.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9:54 a.m.